The Original Me

2fc129b92350864df2b72b3ed756ec9fWhat am I supposed to become? This is a question which has amused all sorts of people. I am not so well-informed to give the answers of all the people. The renowned psychologist Carl Jung would say answer lies within. I get inside my inner world and the answer emerges.

Spiritual Writer Herbert Alphonso, SJ would speak about personal vocation, which is my own the vocation within the generic vocation. I am a Jesuit, which is my vocation. How I am uniquely called to fulfill it is my personal vocation. Understanding it, helps people to live out their vocation more happily. Same thing applies for married people and others.  Personal vocation is my own unique way of living my life to the fullest. It is a journey in and to freedom.

-Parker J. Palmer says, “The deepest vocational question is not “What ought I to do with my life?” It is the more elemental and demanding ‘Who am I? What is my nature?’”

64b6fa3626462ff38282f12e3ca3109cimages

We have different guidelines from the scriptures, great writers and from people who have lived the life to the fullest. It is our responsibility to identify our path. We have models, but we shouldn’t imitate anyone. It is my unique path and I need to discover it. Others may help, but I need to discover it.

Leave a Reply

